Brunswick street.Street art is everywhere.


Entire home/apt

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Entire home/apt

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

A spacious studio flat with own courtyard, at rear of the property, with separate entrance from back lane.

Fantastic location, 2 minutes from bars, cafes and shops of vibrant Brunswick Street, Fitzroy, trams to the city and beyond at your doorstep.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: $30 AUD
Weekly Discount: 15%

Description

The space

Down the short back lane, you'll find the door to the spacious studio at the back of my garden. It began life as a garage, but was built with big glass walls opening into its own courtyard, screened from the main garden. There's a neat little bathroom, with toilet and shower, long kitchen bench with a bench-top electric mini-oven and hotplates. There's a queen size bed plus a couch that can become a second bed. The decor is retro funky. It's secluded and cozy.

Smoking in the courtyard is fine.

Guest access

The studio is all yours, with its own access from the laneway.

If you want to contact me, please send a message via airbnb app or knock on the front door.

Interaction with guests

I will be around generally, happy to answer enquiries.

Please just text or ring, or come around to the front door, we prefer people not to just wander across the garden.

The neighbourhood

We are in the middle of downtown Fitzroy, all the shops and bars of Brunswick Street 2 minutes away at the end of the street. And five more cafes even closer. There's also a supermarket 2 minutes away, and a laundrette about 5 minutes away.

Brunswick Street has a huge variety of food options, from vegetarian to pizza to afghan to thai to (swish) fish and chips and kebabs, as well as live music venues and bars and pubs (and lots of clothes shops). And lots more just a few blocks away.

Getting around

There are two tramlines into the city 2 minutes walk away, which both go through the city, and end up at the beach. Or its a 15 minute walk to the city and then you're in the free tram zone (CBD only). You can also walk 10 minutes to check out Smith Street Collingwood one way, or Lygon Street, the Melbourne Museum and Carlton Gardens the other ! Finding a car park is a problem, but if you have one you can borrow our visitor permit for short stays.

Other things to note

The kitchen facilities are basic, including fridge, kettle, sink, bench, toaster and hotplates, but there are so many cafes around you won't be cooking much!

Also its not new, and its been a shared house for many years, so the furniture is um eclectic, a mix of retro and practical.

Its a small hot water service, so two showers pretty much uses it up, then you have to wait about 40 minutes for more.

An iron is available on request.

There may be some noise from cars using the lane getting to a couple of small apartment block carparks, maybe some rubbish pickup or construction, and the neighbours like heavy metal (! but they will turn it down if I ask them).

You will probably meet my cat Harry, he's very freindly, and loves to play chasey (often with the neighbourhood cat across the roof sounds like very heavy rain !).


House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM

Just remember that the garden is shared and neighbours can hear you in the courtyard, but otherwise you have complete privacy. Dont be shy about sitting outside and having a drink - just be aware that its a residential area. Pleny of pubs and clubs 100 metres away :)

You are free to use the wifi, and we have unlimited download, makes up for not having a TV.

Smoking in the garden is fine, please not inside.

Please do not park in the spaces in the laneway next door, no matter how tempting ! We do not own them, and the landlord next door gets annoyed (even though he doesn't really use them).

We dont get up all that early, and I have my phone off at night, so dont expect me to answer at 7 in the morning ! But if there's an emergency, do knock on the door or just call the fire brigade - 000 !


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Availability
2 nights minimum stay

66 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Keita User Profile
April 2017
We loved staying here, great location and cute quirky studio. It was unfortunate that the place wasn't cleaned sufficiently from last guest. So I do hope that the hosts consider that for the future because it really is a great little place to stay in Fitzroy and so close to city via the tram.

Anthony User Profile
April 2017
The host canceled this reservation 41 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Ray User Profile
March 2017
We loved the location and its proximity to bars, cafes and eateries. Accurate description of the basic amenities and a quiet part of the neighbourhood.

Victoria User Profile
March 2017
Rohan's place was easy to get to from CBD and/or Southern Cross Stn via trams. Close to lots of cafes, restaurants and basically everything you want if you want to spend money lol. The space was great and the shower pressure was good. Wifi was a little shaky, but we were able to do some streaming. The bed and couch are uncomfortable, but if you like super firm, then you'll be fine. Place was clean and well kept. Backyard garden area was a lovely touch
Rohan User Profile
Response from Rohan:
unhappy about the ruined new towel. Big black oily stains that will not come out
March 2017

Adam User Profile
March 2017
Thanks for having us Rohan! Our whole experience at your place was really great! Amazing location. Really cute little place. Super comfortable and homely. We`ll be coming back for sure! Thanks again, Adam
Rohan User Profile
Response from Rohan:
you are welcome back anytime :)
March 2017

Kieran User Profile
March 2017
Rohan was away but his housemate, Peter, was very welcoming. Five minutes walk away are the restaurants, bars and music venues on Brunswick St. It is a garage with basic amenities and is not soundproof. When we were there, neighbours played extremely loud music all night. The entrance is in a back lane and there were people sleeping in a van just outside.

Luke User Profile
March 2017
This is a great space in an excellent location! I'd highly recommend this place for anyone visiting Melbourne. Especially if you enjoy having great food and coffee nearby!

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia · Joined in December 2015
Rohan User Profile

Im a semi-retired architectural historian, and I share a big terrace house with Peter, a retired fashion academic. I like movies and those good TV series around now, and reading lots of architecture books. We are pretty quiet, in a pretty busy area.

Response rate: 100%
(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within a few hours

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.