walk to Darlinghurst, City, SFS, SCG, Fox studios
walk to Darlinghurst, City, SFS, SCG, Fox studios


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Spacious light filled bedroom with the most comfortable double bed. Room has a north aspect and is at the front of the house. We have a courtyard and relaxing garden out the back to chill out after a day of sightseeing.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $10 AUD / night after the first guest
Security Deposit: $150 AUD
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price: $80 AUD / night

Description

The space

Our place is a traditional Victorian terrace on a leafy street just in between two main roads for the most part its nice and quiet. Just be aware there can be street noise and the house is quite old and creaky, so if you're a light sleeper the room may not be suitable. There are blinds to block out light.

Bathroom is shared. Our lounge room is cosy but comfy, feel free to use the foxtel(cable) and netflix.

We have a patio out back, feel free to enjoy the sun and relax in our garden - it is a bit wild though but that's how we roll.

Guest access

You'll have access all areas with the exception of our private rooms. We want you to feel like this is your home away from home.

Interaction with guests

You'll be sharing us, there may be one extra guest in our other spare room also. We're more than happy to help with suggestions and places to check out. Let me know what you enjoy doing and I can send you some suggestions before your trip. Glen and I love hitting the beach and local cafes. We also love hearing of places you discovered so tell us if you have any faves - we'll be collating this in a welcome guide for all future guests.

We're happy to interact or just leave you to your own devices.

The neighbourhood

Paddington is a lovely village like suburb in between the city and Bondi Beach and other amazing beaches. Locally we have great cafes and coffee and a local arts market. We're super close to Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney Cricket Ground, Moore Park, Fox Studios, Centennial Park.

Markets are on Saturday at Paddington School just on Oxford St

Our favourite coffee places are:
Ampersand - Oxford St
Not Just coffee - Perry lane
Sonder - down in 5 ways
Tiger Mottle
Organic bread bar about a 10 minute walk from our place

Eats and drinks:
Cheeky Burger bar - oxford St
Wine Library - Oxford st
Mickeys - cheap nightly deals
Cheekyburger - happy hour betwen 5-6
Arthurs Pizza - $12 pizzas before 7

Check out my guide book for more suggestions all over Sydney and it's inner suburbs.

Getting around

Our place is between the city and Bondi Beach, each way is roughly 20-30 mins by bus. We're also so close to the Sydney football stadium, Centennial Park, Royal Hall of industries and Fox studios.

The bus stop is on Oxford St servicing both Bondi Beach, Bronte Beach, Marrickville, Central and Sydney CBD/Circular Quay.

333 - City and bondi Beach
M40 - Chatswood and Bondi junction
440 - Bronte beach and Rozelle - good bus for the Glebe markets
380 - City and North Bondi
352 - Bondi junction and Marrickville - good bus to get to Newtown area

Collect your Opal card on arrival to Sydney airport or up at the 7-11 convenience store. You can top these up in increments of $10. An average ride to the city from ours is $2.10

Buses to various locations are easily accessible from Oxford Street or around Anzac Pde / Moore park road. You can also take a nice walk into the city via Hyde Park which can take 30-45 minutes.

Travel on Sundays on the Opal Card is capped at $2.50 so it's the perfect day to hit the ferries, especially to Manly and Watson's bay.

Uber: Ubers into the city are between $8-12
Go Catch: haven't used this app but I've heard it can be cheaper than uber
Taxis at night have a high flagfall and charge rate, it's better to use Uber or Go-catch

Other things to note

We do have a pet cat who is mostly friendly and a bit aloof, please let me know if you have any issues.


House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)

Please clean up after yourself and be respectful our private spaces and belongings. Smoking allowed outdoors.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

38 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Milena User Profile
April 2017
Susan and Glen are wonderful hosts. Great communication. We had a very nice stay at their house. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends!

Daniel User Profile
April 2017
We had a nice stay with many useful advices from Susan! You can either walk to the city center or take a bus. The kitchen was very nice! Felt like home for us!

Giulia User Profile
April 2017
Great place, great positions and the hosts we're really nice!

Mairead User Profile
March 2017
Susan and Glen are lovely would totally stay again.

Julia User Profile
March 2017
I did a quick weekend trip to Sydney, and Susan and Glen's place was perfect for what I was after. The bed was super comfy, which was essential after all the walking I did. Susan was very prompt in her responses by text (I didn't get the chance to meet her as I would leave early in the morning and come back quite late). She gave me some great recommendations for food nearby and in Bondi. 5 minute walk to buses that take you in the center or to Bondi Beach, so convenient location. The area is quiet at night, so you can get a good night's sleep. Shower pressure was pretty good too. Thanks Susan and Glen! Let me know if you have any plans to visit St Petersburg, Russia, in the future.

Nat User Profile
March 2017
Susan + Glen's house was a short bus ride or walk to places like the CBD, Surry Hills or Bondi. The room itself was spacious and tidy with access to power points, coat hangers and storage. The hosts themselves were friendly and accommodating and if you're a cat lover, their shy feline Whiskey is pretty damn cute, too. I'd recommend their place if you're visiting for work or if you're staying the weekend and feel like spending some cash in the boutiques or markets in the area. The only downside is if there's an event on at the stadium, the crowd can be heard from the room. All in all, I totally recommend Susan and Glen's place and would stay again sometime.

Becks User Profile
March 2017
Susan and Glen were wonderful hosts. The room was clean, spacious and in a perfect location for our trip purpose. Our hosts made us feel at home, were easy to communicate with and were very personable. We'd definitely return and highly recommend to anyone else!

This host has 42 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia · Joined in August 2013
Susan + Glen User ProfileSusan + Glen is a superhost.

Originally from NZ, I now call Sydney home. I live with my husband and cute wee tabby cat. I have a great love for the outdoors, and of course travel.

My favourite places I've traveled so far would have to be: Morocco and Japan, but I pretty much find something to love everywhere I go, no matter how many trials and tribulations that had been experienced along the way.

I love to meet people from all walks of life, enjoy listening to music and cooking.

Look forward to meeting you

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.