We are sorry that The Artist’s Retreat did not meet your expectations, and that this was compounded by a mechanical failure that was outside of anyone’s control. Most guests who stay at the retreat are very pleased to have an entire freestanding house, seclusion at the far end of the farm by the creek, and enjoy the combination of comfort and rustic life we aim to provide here.
In the future, a good time to address problems is after you initially check in. This is why we have a care-taker on site, and as he had already assisted in re-lighting the pilot on the heater, he would have been more than happy to field the complaints you have articulated, and could have perhaps offered another cabin or found an amenable solution. We always appreciate feedback to help us improve, and in no way are we trying to deceive anyone with our rental descriptions.
The reason we provide explicit and detailed house descriptions, travel information, tips for your stay and house information before arrival is to give as accurate a picture as possible to the homey but rustic nature of our rentals.
It is true; we are in a rural valley in northern New Mexico, set apart from the more modern and connected world of downtown Taos. What we love about our life here, and the community of the valley, is that when the unexpected happens - which it can and does occasionally - a neighbor puts on his jacket and headlamp, and walks across the field after dark to come help. We apologize that there was a two hour window in the early evening when you were without amenities; a network of people came together as fast as they could to assist, and considering a breaker actually blew, we were pleased to be able to figure out a way to get all major systems running again. The extension cords were an unpleasant intrusion but temporary as we tried to accommodate your needs.
We feel that for a small farm house, equipping it with a large wood burning stove, a secondary propane heater, and extra space heaters if needed is more than adequate. As in your case, when the pilot goes it does smell, and our property manger is available to help you light it again if you are not familiar with propane heaters. We have slowly renovated nine of our ten cabins and improved heating with energy efficient split air heat pump. The Retreat will be our next project.
We apologize again that our farm and rental did not meet your expectations, and that some of these things were not communicated to us sooner. We hope on future trips that you find places that are enjoyable and work well for you and your family.