Skip to content
More of your bedroom.More of the bedroom. In the closet, you can find hangers and additional pillows.
Private bedroom + bathroom with separate entrance
Private bedroom + bathroom with separate entrance
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 private bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

Private basement bedroom & bathroom with own entrance. 24/7 streetcars at front door. Steps from subway, airport train, trendy Roncesvalles village. Optional breakfast (ask us).

Nous parlons aussi le français.

The space

Thanks for checking us out - we're a laid-back family and love to have Airbnb guests. Here is a little more about us and our hosting "brand"!

WHO ARE WE?

We are a family of 5, 2 parents and 3 young boys. We emigrated to Canada in 2007, and we started hosting in 2014.

WHAT TO EXPECT?

You'll find a house where kids are laughing, making messes, being noisy, and where there's always the smell of something cooking. We're offering a basic room & bathroom in our basement that can be your home base while you're exploring the city.
There is complimentary tea and coffee in the room, and if you'd like, for an extra fee of $5 a day per person, we can offer a basic breakfast (bread, jam, honey, nut butters, oatmeal, cold cereal - these are all staples in our house!)

The bedroom is far from stunning and you won't find a state-of-the-art bathtub, but that's not what we're going for. We're offering a basic, clean and comfy space.

NOISE

We have 3 active boys, age 9, 5 and 1. Our toddler is at a stage in his development where he is throwing and banging stuff, or building cube towers (that he then smashes and they fall onto the floor) and he loves rough play with his brothers (which produces noise). The bedroom being in the basement, underneath our kitchen, you will hear the noise of kids being kids (and parents getting mad sometimes). Moreover, our sump pump (located beside the bedroom) emits a low growl every few hours and you can hear the streetcar pass by.
We started hosting in 2014 and it's only recently that two guests have complained about the noise level, I think it's because our youngest is now a crazy toddler! The worst part is that it starts early. They are up around 6:30 am, every day, even Sundays, Christmas day or when we're hungover (little devils!).
So before you book - just be sure that you'll be okay with the noise level. Assume that, unless you're a heavy sleeper or wearing earplugs, it will be tough to sleep after 6:30 or 7 am.

THE BASEMENT BEDROOM AND BATHROOM

The bedroom has a queen-size bed (mattress was replaced in 2016), a shelf and a closet with hangers. If you're traveling with young children, we might be able to accommodate them as well, message us. Right beside the bedroom is your private bathroom.
In the bathroom, a towel for each guest is provided. Soap and shampoo as well, in case you forget yours :)

PRACTICAL DETAILS:

High-speed wifi connection provided (details in the bedroom).

If you want to use our washer and dryer, please let me know. We're charging $5 / load.

The bedroom and bathroom are located in our basement We try our best to make it friendly, welcoming and clean. If you see a spot that needs cleaning or can suggest an improvement, please share. If we're too noisy, please come on up and let us know. The kids love to meet our guests and putting a face will help them self-regulate.
We absolutely want to know your feedback and hear your suggestions.

The basement is chilly in the winter, and we provide an additional heater to ensure you're warm. On the bright side, it's nice and fresh during steamy summer days!

Please do not hesitate to message me if you have questions! We're looking forward to meeting you.

Guest access

You get your own private entrance with your own key, you can be completely independent and enjoy near total privacy if you'd like.
Bedroom and bathroom in the basement reserved to guests. The hallway between the bedroom and bathroom in the basement is shared use, so if you want to leave some of your stuff there, please let me know.

Kitchen access is possible but with limitations - to be discussed prior to booking if you plan on using the kitchen (basically, we ask that you don't use the kitchen during our mealtimes because it's small and it distract the kids. That's it.)

The second floor of the house is our sleeping area and not open to guests.

Interaction with guests

I will be here for check-in and most likely for check-out. I am usually super responsive to messages, guests can ask me any questions during their stay.

Other things to note

Please note: While we try to limit our visits to the basement while we have guests, we have a storage room / play room there, as well as our laundry equipment so we still come from time to time. We do our best to do that when we know that our guests are away.

Amenities
Internet
Family/kid friendly
Indoor fireplace
Wireless Internet
Prices
Cleaning Fee $16 AUD
Security Deposit $532 AUD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 5PM - 9PM
Check out by 11AM

A few basic things to know:
- check-in is between 5pm and 9pm because that's the time that fits our family schedule the best. BUT, if you need the room earlier, I can probably try to make it work. Just add that to your booking message.
- no smoking inside the house
- kitchen access is limited especially during the weekends and at our mealtimes - if you plan on cooking regularly, please let me know at booking time
- no first floor or kitchen access between 10 pm and 7 am
- no external guests
- you can use the washer and dryer ($5 for a wash + drier and detergent). Just ask us before using it please.
- we're generally flexible about check-out time, except if we have guests coming up right after you and I need to clean

Cancellations
Safety features
First aid kit
Availability
2 nights minimum stay

67 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Vincent User Profile
November 2017
The details in the description are spot on! 5/5! The Airbnb is very close to public transit that takes you straight downtown. It is also close to many restaurants (t be afraid to ask her for any help if you have any questions.

Radim User Profile
October 2017
Elise home is situated 30 minutes from center of town by public transport. Train and subway station is really close it. We stayed in nicer and cleaner rooms on the Airbnb but if you look for something basic is it ok. Elise is really friendly comunicative and helpfull person. If you come by car you must counting with 10 dollar per day for parking.

Kathrin User Profile
September 2017
We enjoyed the stay at Elise's house. She gave us all the information we needed and was always available. The room was well equipped. Everything you need is accessible by foot.

Johnnie User Profile
September 2017
Elise made the check in process hassle free for my husband and me. She was also very accommodating to allow us to drop off our bags since we arrived into the city much earlier than the check in time. The room was comfortable and spacious, and the bathroom was clean. Overall, we were impressed with the value of the accommodations! The private entrance was very convenient as well. I highly recommend Elise's place to anyone looking for a nice place to stay that's close to mass transit and local restaurants.
Elise User Profile
Response from Elise:
Hey that's such a nice review, thanks so much! I hope you make the trip up north again and stay with us :)
September 2017

Graham And Jessica User Profile
September 2017
For our needs and budget, this spot couldn't have been better. Elise was pleasant, honest and easy to communicate with from booking through checkout. Close to everything we needed for our visit, we will definitely be recommending Elise to friends in the future.
Elise User Profile
Response from Elise:
Thanks! Good luck on your move back east :)
September 2017

Caiti User Profile
September 2017
Elise and her family were wonderful hosts! The room was clean and spacious and full of city maps and guidebooks. It’s also close to public transit which makes it easy to get anywhere in the city, although there’s plenty of interesting things in the neighborhood nearby. I’d definitely stay there again!
Elise User Profile
Response from Elise:
And we would be happy to welcome you back! Thank you Caiti.
September 2017

Stanley User Profile
June 2017
Very good deal for a room with its own private bathroom. Perfect to stay for solo or couple when visiting Toronto. Bathroom and bedroom were very clean. Upstair noise usually begin at 630 am because of the toddler but it is a good wake up call for myself too, so I had more time exploring the city. Host is nice, respectful and communicate well. Would totally recommend it.

Toronto, CanadaJoined in December 2012
Elise User Profile

Hi. I am Elise, I live in Canada but I am originally from France. I live in Toronto with my 4 men: our 3 boys and their dad. We love the outdoors, good food and kicking back. Our boys love any sports that have to do with a ball and love water and swimming.
I am looking forward to meeting you!

Bonjour ! Je m'appelle Elise et je vis à Toronto au Canada. J'ai immigré au Canada en 2007 avec mon conjoint et nous avons maintenant trois garçons plein d'énergie. Nous aimons les bons repas, la nature et aussi nous reposer! Nos garçons aiment les ballons, de toutes les formes, et ils adorent se baigner. Nous avons hâte de vous rencontrer au travers de nos voyages ou des votres !

Languages: English, Français, Русский
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings