Neighbourhood highlights
Visit Historic Dalton
" . . . the haunt of cattle duffers, bushrangers and robbery under arms"
This charming village just 11 km from Gunning on the Hume Highway was settled in 1847.
It retains much of its historic character and serves as a quiet reminder of gentler times past.
When in Dalton visit:
- The Dalton Shearing and Farm Co-op
- The Royal Hotel
- The Dalton Fossil Leaf Deposit
- The Dalton Common
- Ned Kelly's Last Stand - (a cleverly welded sculpture scene depicting Ned’s last stand)
The Dalton Shearing and Farm Co-op
The Co-operative was first opened in 1840 and was an important centre for people who settled in the Dalton area. No-one at this stage had their own shearing sheds or equipment, and so they paid the Co-op to shear their sheep and make chaff. They also hired equipment such as ploughs and horses. There was a Board of Directors who supervised the running of the centre.
Robert Dowling, who owned the Co-op, also owned the flour mill. Jacob Stone arrived in Sydney from England in 1887 and was appointed as flour miller. He also became a Co-op Director in 1890.
The centre was closed in 1920. The land was sold to Jacob Stone and has been owned by the Stone family since that time.
Over the decades the Co-op Building was used for many different purposes and while it served many uses throughout this time it still retains its original old charm and image to this very day. In the 1980s Brett Stone, Jacob's great grandson, opened the co-op as a public museum and for many years was well known for the displays on show.
The museum closed when Brett left the district and for 20 years the Co-op was left to the ravages of time, the elements and termites. In 2012 the Co-op was in a terrible state of disrepair and in danger of collapsing. Mike Stone purchased the property and set about restoring the shed to its former glory, but at the same time adding a slightly modern twist. The Co-op, as it stands today forms part of Mikes private residential property.
Many of the displays and machinery still remain and Mike is always happy to show visitors through the Co-op and share with you its rich history.
Other Places of Interest in Dalton
Dalton Public School in Jobson Street was built in 1878 and remains an important education centre for Daltons young residents. A cork Oak was planted in the grounds during Arbour Day celebrations in 1890 and remains as a living symbol of individuality, strength and growth.
A Police Station was established in Dalton in 1880 and a Senior police Constable appointed to maintain order in a sometimes lawless area. A substantial brick Police Station was built in 1886, with a residence, a cell with office, exercise yard and stable. The station and police cell closed in 1943 but still remain today. The building is now a private residence.
The Uniting Church in Chapel Street was opened in 1860. One of the oldest buildings in Dalton, it has been in continuous use since it was opened. At that time Dalton was called "Wesley Vale" but the name was subsequently changed to Dalton after objections over the religious nature of the name.
St. Mathews Anglican Church (Gunning Street) was built in 1878 and consecrated in 1883. A beautiful stone building originally had with a shingle roof, later replaced with slate. the bell in the belfry is dated 1859 and comes from the original wooden church located near the Jerrawa Creek bridge.
The Dalton Common - Native flora and fauna abound in this quiet bush retreat located at the corner of Jobson and Brown Streets. The common, renown for its wild flowers is visited regularly by ACT and NSW Australia Flora clubs who keep its unique beauty a closely guarded secret.
Please take care when visiting the Common. Not all our native wild life are furry and friendly. If you happen to stumble upon a snake or a big kangaroo give them the space they need.
The Dalton Fossil Leaf Deposit - Early in the 1880s Mr J K Hume of Yass collected plant fossils from a deposit of conglomerate at Dalton. This unique and significant exhibit remains on display at the village tennis court, sporting and camping facility next to Oolong Creek running through the centre of the settlement.
The Royal Hotel – The original part of the Royal Hotel was built in 1865 by Robert Dowling. At the time Dalton was a thriving township, with a tannery, a boot and shoe factory, wheelwright's shop, a general store, coach factory, winery, post office, school and chapel.
The hotel soon enjoyed the support of the town residents and the many local farmers. The discovery of gold in the foothills surrounding the town resulted in even more thirsty patrons for the publican. Take time to stop at the Pub for a cold beer and to soak up some history and talk to our local history enthusiast Lisa Wiseman. You might even meet a few colorful locals who are always ready to spin a yarn or to.
Dalton Services:
Dalton Pub (Royal Hotel Dalton)
Open : Thursday - Sunday
Light Meals, Toasted Sandwiches, Coffee and Cake. Our recently re-opened local is a charming and welcoming Pub. The kitchen is continually expanding its menu.
Dalton Garage and Mechanical Services:
Mon - Fri and Saturday mornings.
Post Office:
Open 5 days a week from 1pm
Dining out:
If you are planning to eat out the nearest regular eateries are a 10 minute drive away at Gunning.
The Gunning Telegraph Hotel serves dinner and lunch in the pub bistro.
Gunning has 2 reasonably priced cafe/coffee shops.
Shops: The Gunning Service Station has a well stocked mini grocery section. A wonderful butchery shop is also at Gunning.