Back of houseLivingroom
Historic 1860's home.
Hosted by Bethany
Bethany is the host.Bethany is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
3 shared baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
3 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

A modest double bed bedroom with shared bath and complimentary coffee in the morning. Use of gym on property included.
1.5 miles from SUNY Geneseo, and 4 miles from Letchworth State Park.

The space

We love our home and we keep it pretty tidy, and I love a clean house, but we have 2 dogs and a cat who seem to shed at alarming rates, so I can't guarantee that you won't see the occasional "tumbleweed" of pet hair on the kitchen floor despite daily vacuuming! We live in the "country" and that means there are some flies, beetles, mosquitoes, etc. While we are definitely out of town, our house is very close to 20A (a 2 lane regional road) and there is some road noise. After living here 24 years we don't hear it anymore most of the time, but if you are a light sleeper, the road noise may bother you.

We are early risers, but generally quiet, unless the dogs see some sort of threat, like deer or a squirrel, or a bicycle on the road. They bark. I try to keep it to a minimum. Our rooster crows, but you really can't hear it in the house. Our dogs will love you and greet you with exuberance. They are generally well behaved, but will be relentless at trying to befriend you.

We have a very large deck with two tables and quite a few chairs (one sunny, one shady depending on the time of day). Many of our guests have enjoyed morning coffee and the sound of our rooster, Lucky, crowing in the morning, or an evening glass of wine and watching fireflies in the evening.

Freshly washed linens and towels are provided, and we have "in case you forgot your toothbrush" baskets in the rooms. We are also 3 miles from a Walmart. That said, we are not the Hilton.

This is an old house and can be a little chilly in the winter. We provide extra blankets and comforters, but you might want to pack your "warm pajamas"

We are LGBTQ friendly.

Guest access

-You will share 3 full bathrooms with us, one full time (a very responsible college student) and one part-time (a college professor) boarders. We recently renovated our bathrooms and they are lovely! You may choose which bathroom you want to use, or try all three if you want! If you desire your own private bathroom this is not the right fit for you.
-Kitchen, within reason: This means you are welcome to use the refrigerator/freezer, microwave, heat some water for tea, etc. It does not mean you can occupy the kitchen for an hour to cook a full meal unless this is arranged ahead of time. This is the only kitchen in the house and I need it to be mostly free to do our cooking and baking. Depending on how my hens are laying, you are welcome to cook up some fresh eggs in the morning!
-Common areas such as the living room and dining room
-Guests staying longer than 3 days may use washer/dryer.
-Deck and yard, walking trails, and gym.
-Check in is best between 4 and 8 PM, and check out by Noon. With advanced notice, we can be flexible with check in and check out times.
- No check in after 11 PM. I can't stay up that late, I don't wake up for my alarms, and it makes for a less than wonderful experience for both host and guest. I had guests who misunderstood my written instructions and ended up using the bathroom my college-aged son uses. Needless to say, they had a bad experience and I was embarrassed. If you need a late check in, a hotel or a stand-alone airbnb is a better choice.

Interaction with guests

We view our airbnb guests as friends (we haven't met yet) from out of town who need a place to stay.

We will be mostly present during the guest's stay; friendly and helpful, but mostly going about our own business.

We try to be home as much as possible when we have guests. We block out dates that we are out of town or have major family events going on. I do appreciate knowing your approximate arrival time so that I can make sure I am home to greet you and show you around.

Other things to note

GPS has some trouble finding our address. Long story with the Post Office. I usually provide coordinates and directions to guests when the reservation is made. If it slips my mind, don't hesitate to message me for the information!

Please read your itinerary as detailed directions are in it!

Guest feedback is very important to us. Hosting airbnb guests is really fun for us, and way more important than any income we receive. We are very interested in suggestions for improvement, and have made some great changes based on feedback from guests. We ask that if you cannot rate your stay 5 stars that you tell us why. Your suggestions will contribute to a better experience for future guests!


Amenities
Internet
Essentials
Heating
Air conditioning

Prices
Weekly Discount: 24%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)

-Be friendly, quiet, kind, and have a sense of humor.
-No smoking in the house, but there is ample comfortable space outside for smoking.
-Pets would be considered, but we have 2 dogs and 2 cats. One of our dogs occasionally has problems with other dogs, so it would have to be a fairly submissive and relaxed pet. We have had 2 guests with dogs and everything went fine, but these were 2 very chill dogs.
-We have hosted several families with children and it has always worked just fine, but understand we are empty-nesters, without grandchildren so far, and the house is not child-proofed. No children under 2 years old.
- No check in after 11 PM. I can't stay up that late, I don't wake up for my alarms, and it makes for a less than wonderful experience for both host and guest. I had guests who misunderstood my written instructions and ended up using the bathroom my college-aged son uses. Needless to say, they had a bad experience and I was embarrassed. If you need a late check in, a hotel or a stand-alone airbnb is a better choice.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

212 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jong Woo User Profile
October 2017
Reasonable price, peaceful back yard, lovely dogs, cats, chickens and ducks. And Bethany was the best host. She was very kind and nice. I wouldn't forget the toast with fresh eggs. I'll absolutely stay here again. Thank you Bethany :)

Katia User Profile
October 2017
If I could give 10 stars, I'd be happy to do so. The house is very clean, the dogs are awesome and my bed was perfect. We already reserved the room for our return trip - do I need to say more?

Susan User Profile
October 2017
Great location, easy to find. Very reasonable rates. Very personable, felt very welcome!

Linda User Profile
October 2017
I loved staying at Bethany's place. Everyone was so friendly, including the animals. My room was perfect. I had an event at Letchworth State Park and I needed a place I could come and go as I needed. And Bethany's place fit my needs perfectly. Once I checked in, I was able to come and go with no worries. Thank you for a wonderful stay. I look forward to staying again next year.

Michelle User Profile
September 2017
Bethany's home was quiet, peaceful,scenic, and cozy. We loved being able to crash there for the night as we made a quick trip for my aunts funeral.

Dominik User Profile
September 2017
We had a great night (unfortunately only one night) at Bethany's house. The gps coordinates work with (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) maps very well and so it was easy to find the house. Bethany was very welcomed and everything was absolutely fine. The room was clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this Airbnb for everyone. The dogs are very lovely and well educated. Thank you!!!

Eva User Profile
September 2017
Very friendly and comfortable for a nights stay.

Geneseo, New York, United StatesJoined in March 2014
Bethany User ProfileBethany is a superhost.

We are very social homebodies. We are empty-nesters with some extra space, and love meeting new people without leaving home! My husband is an engineer and I am a former RN, now a personal trainer. We have 2 daughters and one son who are grown up and don't live here anymore. We love our home and enjoy sharing it! We have two charming dogs, a couple of interesting cats, and chickens and ducks in the back yard.

My interests, outside of my job as a personal trainer, are photography and cooking. My husband spends a lot of time volunteering at the National Warplane Museum as a pilot and Director of Maintenance.

I am not a fan of dull tomorrows.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings