8 recent guests have said that this home was sparkling clean.
Twin Hills Cottages of Acadia an 8 acre property just a few miles from downtown Ellsworth. Located on Rt 1 Acadia National Highway, 30 minutes to Bangor and Bar Harbor. A great destination for your next trip.
Laptop friendly workspace
1 queen bed
1 sofa bed
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 10AM
The host was extremely responsive to our last minute request to stay at the Cottages. She confirmed our reservation within minutes of us requesting the stay. For the most part, everything was as described, as far as cleanliness and kitchen amenities are concerned. The cabin itse…
Place is spacious and comfy. Depending on which cottage you stay in, you may have iffy or non existent WiFi. I suggest you check with the owners before you book as to the WiFi availability. They need to invest in a WiFi booster for certain cottages. Otherwise, I recommend the pla…
Terrible experience. The unit we got smelled like ashtray and was unbearable to stay in. Requested to change the unit, and got a tiny one that obviously hasn’t been cleaned for a long time. Layers upon layers of dust, dead insects (along with their alive peers), spider nets and s…
Response from Wallace:
You can't please everyone! Guests checked in around dinner time for a 3 night stay and complained about the smell of smoke in the apartment which surprised us as all of our units are non smoking. She requested another unit, all we had available was another apartment for 2 nights and a guest suite for the 3rd. She agreed, thanked us and checked into the other apartment. We checked the original apartment assuming the previous guest had broken the house rules and discovered the smell was coming from the fire pit and BBQ area in the backyard that we have for all the guests to use. Around 11:30 at night she messaged saying she wanted a refund, I agreed and said I would send a change request for the updated reservation and would re-list the apartment giving her whatever the difference was. After many more messages she still wasn't happy and involved AirBnB. After speaking with the AirBnB representative we found we were still in our rights with our cancellation policy and they were going to reach back out to her to mitigate. At this point it was well after midnight and we decided it would be better to not have someone staying on our property that was unhappy and negative about any situation so we offered her the option to check out in the morning. The next day we received complaints from the apartment next door about the noise both late at night and early in the morning and when the unit was cleaned it was pretty dirty especially for a group being in there for less then 12hrs. Not our usual experience with guests through Airbnb.
We are from NY we love to travel. We traveled to Brooklin, ME on a whim, stayed with Airbnb, and fell in love with the town. We bought our first home that week! Now we are living the dream here in Brooklin with another lovely property in Ellsworth Maine.
Wallace supports the Living Wage PledgePeople who clean this host’s listing are paid a living wage. Learn more
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.