Skip to content
Sometimes it is social.Cute kitchen
Walk to beach, bike to lake and piers, restaurants
Walk to beach, bike to lake and piers, restaurants
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Enjoy a south facing bungalow and great deck. A great location for enjoying the nature of Vancouver Island. Walk to beach to eat blackberries and watch the sunset! Ride bikes to swim in Kemp lake or to the pier and catch some crabs for supper! Use us as a base to which to explore Point no Point, Mystic Beach, and the Juan de Fuca Trail.

You are welcome to relax in our 1/2 acre rainforest back yard reading or writing your next novel, we have super fast wifi. This is a shared house.

The space

The central circle room is large with a couch, fireplace, queen size bed, TV, and view of the mountains.

Guest access

Full access to the house. Full use of kitchen, wood burning stove, secondary living room, deck, and gardenss

Interaction with guests

As much as guests would like! I am around more on the weekend as I work downtown Victoria. Anna (a biologist) and Brad (sports medicine) are around weekdays! Please note this is a shared house. We have 1 kitchen and 1 bathroom.

Other things to note

It is quiet, yet, it is in the middle of all these great things to do. Sooke is the start of the South Island Beach Country. Quaint restaurants, whales, swimming in canyons, beautiful hikes. The front of the house, enjoy the sun deck and the mountains. In the back yard, disappear into the rainforest.

Pets allowed
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
Check-in is anytime after 1PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

No smoking in the house, if you cook, please do your own dishes.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) live in the house


7 Reviews

Check In
Rheanna User Profile
November 2017
The price and location can't be beat for anyone wishing to spend time in or near Sooke! The house is clean, the room is large and private, the bed is comfortable, and you can see the ocean from the room window. The other housemates (and Todd) were all wonderful, quiet, clean, friendly, and considerate! I would definitely stay here again!

Ricardo User Profile
September 2017
Great experience; so friendly Host; nice roomates. And few minutes walking from the house beautiful places (beach and restaurants)

Colleen User Profile
June 2017
The host canceled this reservation 3 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Yuri User Profile
June 2017
The house is older but it is clean. The other roomates who live at house are friendly working professionals. The room is amazing. It is the living room but it converts beautifully to a bed room. There is queen size bed, a beautiful mountain view, big screen TV, and your own private fireplace. The living room was my private bedroom for the duration of my stay, and I could even lock the door. The beach close by was great and the bus stop just down the street. For the price, you can't beat it!
Todd User Profile
Response from Todd:
Thanks Yuri for staying at our house, glad you enjoyed the room and the house and the small town and it's surrounding nature. Yes, the living room does turn into a great bedroom for your stay! The queen bed is very comfortable and the view outstanding. Hope you come again!
June 2017

Seija User Profile
February 2017
The host canceled this reservation 7 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Todd User Profile
Response from Todd:
Guest requested I cancel her reservation so she could book a different host.
February 2017

Ursula User Profile
August 2014
First of all: We stayed in Sooke, not in Calgary. I was confused reading all the comments about Calgary and as I recognized only later: no comment about Sooke. We didn't meet Todd, as he probably doesn't live in Sooke. We made some strange und unpleasent experiences at his place in Sooke. We booked the room but later he said the place was fully booked, except a room in the house (??), which we actually thought we'd live in anyway. We took it as it was too late to look for something else. As we arrived, there was a guy who also lived in the house as a guest and showed us the room. It was really strange, because instead of finding the house "fully booked" there were two more free rooms. The bathroom was ok, but not clean and shining. But one should mention, that it is NOT the bathroom shown in the pictures! We didn't use the kitchen but it was also different to the pictures. We didn't get a key to the house, cause the backdoor is always open.. so if you're not of the scared kind, go ahead. We (two girls) really didn't feel very safe. In contribution to that the neighbourhood and the property itself don't make you feel really cosy. The street is even known to be one of the more disturbing in Sooke. I don't know when the pictures have been taken, but the house does absolutely not look like that in the present. There is no beautiful garden. The backyard is full of old and hidden vehicles (creepy!). We only spent one restless night there (and we're no scared little girls!) but that was enough. We wouldn't recommend this place to anybody. But if you look for a cheap place to stay in Sooke, go ahead.
Todd User Profile
Response from Todd:
All the pictures were real pictures of the house, why would |I post fake pictures, really, I have been a aribnb host for over a year. It is disappointing how people can negatively exaggerate information. The guy they referred to was a very nice university student staying for the summer. What are you so scarred (URL HIDDEN) is a nice bungalow house in a quiet neighbourhood. According to your review, the only thing I can think of is that you checked in at midnight. I would really like to see your other reviews on air bnb. Regarding the neighbourhood, the house 5 doors down is up for sale at $499,000. All I can say is "negative exaggeration" might be a good nickname for your next airbnb interaction.
August 2014

Alexis User Profile
August 2014
Everything was fine, Todd wasn't in Sook at this time but he made sure that everything was ok. I have to precise the fact that while staying in this place, you can have people coming in and check the property at any time.
Todd User Profile
Response from Todd:
Thank you Alexis, it was our first summer, glad you enjoyed it!
August 2014

This host has 126 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Calgary, CanadaJoined in August 2013
Todd User Profile

I am born and raised in Calgary. I am in my 50's, outdoorsy, easy going, and quiet. I have degrees in Sociology and Human Development. Recently, I have switched careers and took a certificate at the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) in Object Oriented Software Design. Looking for opportunities in software development.

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings