Skip to content
HIGH STREET PUBS/ BARS/ RESTAURANT
Entire house

+++ SUMMER CITY HOUSE

Rae

+++ SUMMER CITY HOUSE

16+ guests
4 bedrooms
8 beds
2 baths
16+ guests
4 bedrooms
8 beds
2 baths
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Indoor fireplaceThis is one of few homes in this area that has this feature.
Great check-in experience95% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.

Experienced host on airbnb.
Totally re-furnished 01st August 2017

Fibre-optic broadband.

SUPERB LARGE HOUSE IN ONE OF NEWCASTLE'S BEST AREA- GOSFORTH
8 MINUTES TO THE CITY CENTRE
3 MIN WALK TO THE HIGH STREET PUBS, BARS, GYM, PIZZA RESTAURANTS ETC

Amenities

Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Laptop friendly workspace
Dryer
Indoor fireplace

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
2 double beds
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
Bedroom 3
2 double beds
Bedroom 4
1 double bed
Common spaces
2 sofa beds

House Rules

No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Availability

24 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Lucy User Profile
Lucy
April 2018
My friends and I had a great stay at Rae's place. The house is a lot bigger than it looks in photos, it is only a 7 min taxi from the City Centre and the same from Osborne Road. Taxis are so cheap as well. The house had everything you need and was very clean and tidy when we ar…
Tim User Profile
Tim
March 2018
Horse was very spacious and had everything.
Jamie User Profile
Jamie
March 2018
Whilst the location is really good, it isn't as close to the city centre as advertised. Whilst Rae was mostly quick to reply, it turns out that the host was someone else called Pam, which wasn't an issue, just not my previous experience with AirBnB. The house is like a student h…
Rae User Profile
Response from Rae:
Hey Jamie, Many thanks for your review. Firstly in regards to the location, I have double checked with Airbnb and it is correctly located so I am somewhat unsure as to where you expected the property to be as it is advertised on the map in Gosforth (which may I add is one of Newcastle most elite areas.) In regards to the main fire, we have had a problem before and it seems as much as we explain how to operate, some struggle so we will be putting a homebuilt step by step manual in. Thanks for raising this with us In regards to the cupboard door in the bedroom, the hinge will be rescrewed. This has been previously broken by a guest and one of the reasons we have a security deposit scheme in place. However, I appreciate your concern and we will get it seen to this week. Lastly I understand that the credit for the gas ran out and this is the first time this has happened. We shall be looking to somewhat increase the allowance so this will not be a problem again. Many thanks Rae
March 2018
Luke User Profile
Luke
March 2018
Went with a group of 8 people to this house, the host was nice and the house was huge, more than enough room for everyone. The house is great, will be booking here again if we go back to newcastle.
Arlene User Profile
Arlene
February 2018
Very nice place and convenient :)
Tim User Profile
Tim
February 2018
Great place to stay and adventure for the weekend.
Mischa User Profile
Mischa
February 2018
Gosforth is a great location and the house will comfortably sleep 10 people (5 double beds). We only had 6 guests, so it was an ideal size for us. Unfortunately, the house and our experience was not as we expected. Our first communication with the host was when he requested £2…
Rae User Profile
Response from Rae:
Thanks for your comments Mischa, which regrettably is our very first "negative" review. Being a Superhost I am bit astonished of your review but I guess the Airbnb experience isn't for everyone. Firstly, as you didn't stay at the property yourself, it is quite unfair to rate your experience when you didn't stay there yourself and merely booked on behalf of your partner and her friends. It clearly states on our "rules and regulations" that there is a £200 security deposit which is paid at check-in and returned on check-out, provided no damage. I assure you that the guest you mentioned lost her deposit for a number of reasons and the case actually went a lot further to the extent that police were involved. As there was no damage or nuisance,, your partner's £200 deposit was returned following checkout. This is a rule which is agreed with Airbnb for us to continue providing our Gosforth house on Airbnb. As you said, Gosforth is a great location and resides Newcastle's more elite families. Previously, we have had large groups stay and in some instances the groups were banging on neighbours' doors and shouting in the street as well as causing internal damage to the house (the list continues). The Airbnb experience has been great for our guests who have stayed a couple of nights and then go back to their hometowns. However, people who were not so fortunate were our professional neighbours, who may I add are surgeons and lecturers and have very demanding jobs. I am sure no one would like to be disturbed on a regular occurrence and therefore it is a strict rule that our guests respect and understand. Furtherance, I came to the conclusion that people would less likely cause disruption and nuisance if they were to lose their deposit and this is definitely the case. Since this rule has been implemented, we have had one case of the group losing their deposit. We are clearly not hiding anything and it states the deposit rules on our listing. If your partner and her friends were not happy then you shouldn't have booked. As opposed to the other concerns you have addressed, this is the first time I have heard of such issues and as a Superhost and professional I will look into this. However, I do believe that your partner and her friends may not have known how to use all appliances and have fabricated some of their issues to raise a damaging review.
February 2018

Hosted by Rae

Belvedere, United KingdomJoined in May 2016
Rae User Profile
147 Reviews
Verified
My Husband and I started hosting on Airbnb because we loved the experience much more than hotels. We have been in the property business for years. We have several airbnbs in Newcastle and now branching out to London. I am originally from London but live all around the country …
Response rate: 86%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet
Enter dates to see the total trip price, including additional fees and any taxes.

Similar listings