One of the several seating nooks in the gardenthe covered seating area from another angle
Self-contained 1 bed unit with garden sitting area
Self-contained 1 bed unit with garden sitting area
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Your modern, self contained unit has a double bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette, living room space, sofa and is cosy and inviting. It's
In a separate private downstairs area of house, with gated entrance.
There are pretty garden sitting areas, perfect for relaxing in after a busy day.
Free street parking outside house.
Deagon Train Station & bus 5min walk. Boondal Entertainment Centre 2 stops. Fast food, good IGA supermarket 5 min walk. 25min walk to Sandgate Village or 5 minute drive.

The space

The unit is a self-contained place under our house, with own separate entrance. In the unit, the double bedroom and bathroom both have doors, so you don't have to wake your travelling companion if they want to sleep in.
The lounge sofa is a single bed size, not a fold out one. It's comfortable for an average sized person.
The kitchenette has a microwave, refrigerator, 2-element movable cook-top, toaster, hot water kettle, good sized refrigerator with freezer, cutlery, crockery, cooking pots and utensils, coffee plunger are also provided.
There will be sugar, milk, breakfast spreads (jam, vegemite ) tea and coffee for your use. There's a picnic basket also.
There is a small second table that can be used as a desk.
A large TV connected to local free-to-air channels, a USB input, and can be connected to a laptop (but you'll need your own connector/adapter cable).

Guest access

You are welcome to spend time in the pretty, leafy green garden, just outside your unit. It has a covered seating area with coffee table and comfortable sofas to relax in, have breakfast in Summer, or for a restorative cuppa or glass of wine after your days of exploring Sandgate and Brisbane.

Interaction with guests

I am very contactable/available and happy to help guests with any information they need while in Brisbane. I will leave you to your privacy, but if you see me pottering in the garden, and would like a chat or a cuppa I am definitely happy about that, also.

If you need to check in or out earlier or a few hours later, please ask, as I am very happy to be flexible if other bookings make that possible. Arrival times at night up til approx 8.30 pm altho this is also flexible if your flights arrive a bit later than this.

Other things to note

I have a cat who is very people-friendly if you approach her gently. You may see her relaxing around the garden or going into the house upstairs.
My back door staircase passes near your entrance, so you may occasionally be aware of my passing by to get to the garden (considerately and quietly).
Street parking is available, please park on street, not grass or nature strips adjoining gutter as this breaks gutter and drain pipes. If I'm not going out, sometimes parking in my driveway is the most practical thing.


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Washer

Prices
Extra people $7 AUD / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 1PM - 8PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Please when parking in the street, be careful not to park on top of the gutter or grass, as this breaks the drains and cement.

For overnight Guests leaving early, usually guests are able to park in my driveway.
Also for people with canoes etc on top of cars we arrange for them to park in driveway.
If guests are vising friends or relations in the area, I am happy for them to have guests in their unit for coffee, or outdoor sitting area for coffee, drinks chats. Not huge gatherings tho, or parties.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - 1 cat friendly to children
Some spaces are shared - the garden and outdoor sitting area. I may at times be in garden. There are 3 separate sitting areas in backyard, so plenty of space for everyone.
Amenity limitations - no wifi. There are free wifi all over Sandgate, in parks, at Library, coffee shops. Mall area near IGA Deagon has free wifi

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay.
From Sep 1 - Nov 30, 2017 the minimum stay is 1 night.

41 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Max User Profile
October 2017
Great place! Very clean, cosy and very modern, definitely worth a try. Jan's hospitality is fantastic and she is very helpful.
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Thanks Max, glad you had a wonderful stay, thanks for being a great Guest...you are always welcome back.
October 2017

Julie User Profile
October 2017
Jan has cosy and very comfortable accommodation in a quiet location, but also close to transport. Jan is a friendly and accommodating host.
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
thanks, Julie, I look fwd to welcoming you back again .
October 2017

Katie User Profile
October 2017
Such a beautiful and comfy little room, clean and private and amazing value for money! It has a beautiful garden sitting area as well. Jan was the most perfect host, she provided so much great information about the area and was on hand for whatever we needed. If I could give more stars I would!! We will most definitely be back to stay, it could easily be your home away from home it’s so comfy and relaxing. Ps. Best Couch ever.
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Thanks (URL HIDDEN) couch will soon have people lining up to be here just so they can recline in it! I am so glad you were comfy, I love it when Guests are happy and I especially like it whne they love my garden! See you again I hope. Oh did you pop into Cloudland in Valley on way through...a must for garden lovers the most amazing green walls etc And over the top luscious decorating style!
October 2017

Chelsea User Profile
October 2017
We had a really enjoyable stay - close to the entertainment centre. Lovely place, garden and host.
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Glad you both enjoyed your stay, Chelsea. Thanks for staying and you are always welcome here.
October 2017

Leonardo User Profile
October 2017
Good value and very clean. Jan was very helpful with us.
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Thanks Leo, safe travel! Jan
October 2017

Fiona User Profile
September 2017
Jan's flat was really clean, very private and super comfortable. The snacks and breakfast essentials were an unexpected bonus. The bed was comfy and the flat was beautifully decorated and roomier than expected. Jan was a fantastic communicator and offered local knowledge on places to eat and visit in the lead up to our visit. I would highly recommend Jan's place!!
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Thanks Fiona, I am so glad you enjoyed everything and were comfortable. Thank you for staying, hope to Host you again some day.
September 2017

John User Profile
September 2017
Great space, very private and comfortable. Jan is a very attentive host and made my son at very enjoyable.
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.
Response from Jan:
Thank you John for those kind words, I am so glad you were comfortable and liked the unit. And thank you for your consideration while here. Jan
September 2017

Joined in August 2013
Jan User ProfileJan is a superhost.

I am a therapeutic gardener, vegetarian and like dancing, books, cinema, yoga. I have traveled to United Kingdom, The Netherlands, Crete, Bosnia/Herzegovina, Vienna and Hungary. While travelling, I like to visit Museums, art galleries, gardens and taking small road trips.
As a host I am happy to find out what visitors may want to see and help them with information to find local and Brisbane places they might like.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings