Peaceful bush retreat

Entire home/apt

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Wake to kangaroos grazing in the paddock and king parrots on the veranda outside your bedroom window.
Just 50 minutes from Melbourne, this 7 acre retreat is bordered by nature reserve and pasture, making a peaceful base for exploring the Dandenong Ranges and Yarra Valley.
The apartment features a spacious bedroom with ensuite, kitchenette and cosy living area flanked by verandas facing east and west. It is attached to the main house, but has it's own front and back entrance.

The space

The house stands at the back of a 7 acre property surrounded by bushland and farms, so it's very quiet here. But you are only 3 minutes by car from the township of Emerald, which boasts, 4 coffee shops, 3 restaurants, a pub, a major supermarket and markets on the 1st and 3rd Sunday of each month, with produce and hand made gifts, plants, and yummy things to eat. And of course, the famous puffing billy train, a tourist delight for many overseas guests.

Guest access

You will have your entrance and private lounge, and kitchenette, and naturally a double bedroom and ensuite bathroom...There are two areas to sit, at the front and back of your apartment on the respective verandas. The back veranda is a great place to sit and enjoy the quiet and the wildlife when then come to call. It is a mix of bushland and cleared space, to walk in.

Interaction with guests

I am more than happy to stop and chat about the area, mostly you will find me in the garden, pottering away - but I am always available to help with recommendations for walks or places to visit.

Other things to note

Small and medium sized pets only please, if you're unsure please ask.

The last little bit of your trip, 500 metres is on a dirt road.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3PM - 8PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Shampoo

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 21%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 8PM

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

13 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Will User Profile
September 2017
Tina is an incredibly wonderful host. The house was warm and relaxing. Quiet and picturesque we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I will definitely visit again

Kate User Profile
July 2017
A lovely, quiet place not too far a drive from town. There were so many wonderful surprises during our stay and would definitely recommend for a quiet time away. Thanks Tina for your hospitality.

Elizabeth User Profile
July 2017
Arriving at Tina's place on a dark and stormy night, we were pleased to know from her email, how to get in and make ourselves comfortable, as she would not be home when we arrived. What a lovely welcome to find a loaf of fresh bread and honey from her bees, sitting on the kitchen table. The stress of driving in the rain was soon soothed by a piece of bread and honey together with a hot cuppa. We each chose a big fat book from the range on the shelves and relaxed in the comfy chair and couch to read - finishing our books in fits and starts over the four nights of our stay. Friday we traveled in style in the dining car on Puffing Billy, which was a delightful way to experience the train and see the forest. In such cold weather the heated dining car and terrific menu was appreciated. Saturday we drove up to Olinda to the Cloudhill Garden, which was beautiful and inspiring. We only stayed an hour though as it was so cold, and resolved to come back each season for the next year to see the seasonal changes. We then drove into Olinda township enjoying afternoon tea in one of the cafes. Sunday morning we headed to the Emerald market and bought fresh sour dough bread, but it was just too cold to enjoy being outside so we headed back to the unit and stayed inside reading our books and magazines that Tina provided. A lazy afternoon indeed, but what we needed. Tina recommended the pub at Gembrook for tea so we drove up there and enjoyed a great meal. In winter I would recommend thermal underwear in Emerald as it is colder there than Melbourne. Definately a place where you have to dress for the weather - I had my "long johns" under my jeans every day. Tina was a great host, communicating clearly, happy for feedback and quick to respond to our needs. She was hospitable beyond the call of duty - I had washed a shirt and hung the coat hanger on a nearby tree to dry. When I returned home the shirt had been ironed and was waiting on the unit door! We had a relaxing and recuperative time and plan to return later in the year.

Jessica User Profile
June 2017
Tina was a fabulous host and it exceeded our expectations. The place was spacious and cozy and we will definitely go again. :)

Christina User Profile
April 2017
Tina was a great host, welcoming and so hospitable. The property was exactly as described and included some additional special touches and surprises! Such a beautiful part of the world and a perfect escape from the city, I truly felt relaxed and comfortable and very welcomed by Mr Oliver, Tina's beautiful dog. I will definitely be back!

Andrea User Profile
April 2017
Tina is a wonderful, warm and generous host and easy to communicate with. The place is clean and cosy and there was even fresh produce to enjoy. Great location to enjoy the bush from the porch and close to the heart of Emerald. Would definitely recommend!

Johanna User Profile
April 2017
We had a really cosy two-night stay at Tina's place. The place is nice and quiet in a beautiful forest, a perfect get-away from the city. It was clean and warm and had all the necessities we needed. The house is close to Emerald where we had lunch at the local bakery & café, worth a visit! Would definitely come back again!
Tina User Profile
Response from Tina:
HI Joanna, it was a pleasure to meet you both, I wish the weather had been a little kinder to you and you had a chance to see the big kangaroo that often visits in the front paddock. Safe Travels to you both. Tina
April 2017

This host has 2 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Emerald, AustraliaJoined in January 2017
Tina User Profile

Since working in a guesthouse in England in the 1970's, I've loved hosting people from around the world - friends, family, students - and airbnb is another great opportunity to share this beautiful part of the world that I call home.

I am so lucky to live in this beautiful part of the world, 1 hour from Melbourne town and less than 2 kilometres from the little township of emerald. My little part of heaven is less that 2 kilometres from Emerald town, it is a 7 acre property with an abundace of wild life that come to visit, kangaroo's and wallabies, echnida's and even the wombat, although he is a night traveller, and I rarely see him. As the house is at the back of the block, there are no street lights to marr the beautiful stars at night, and no traffic noise, it is unbelievably quiet. My garden, and my bees give me an enormous amout of pleasure and I am always happy to share the bounty with family and friends..I love to cook, and share meals with my friends, sitting outside, under one of the trees, watching the bird life, the kookaburra's the magpies, the king parrots, and rosella's and even those pesky galah's.

I am lucky enough to have friends that raise chooks, so there are always fresh eggs for breakfast for me, and for you.

For me, Airbnb is a wonderful way to get to know people from all around the world, and show them the wonderful place that I call home.
There is a wonderful little saying - strangers come to visit and leave as friends.
Come See me some time...

Languages: English, Ελληνικά
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings