Skip to content
Private room in house

Idyllic Countryside Retreat: Piwakawaka Suite (SW)

Idyllic Countryside Retreat: Piwakawaka Suite (SW)

3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 private bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 private bath

The Piwakawaka Ground-floor Suite at the southern end of the South-West (SW) wing of the house consists of a small bedroom with a west-facing window and a bathroom. With a large soft bed, the suite is excellent for overnight guests, who are simply looking for a comfortable place to sleep at night. Those planning to use their room during the day may prefer, the other larger suites and rooms in the house. Enjoy freshly squeezed orange juice with complimentary breakfast.


Indoor fireplace
Laptop friendly workspace
Wireless Internet

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 king bed

House Rules

No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 3PM - 8PM
Check out by 11AM

58 Reviews

B Byrnes User Profile
B Byrnes
August 2017
The house is very old but very clean and welcoming, sitting by the fire on a wet cold night was comforting Bet And Eric
Rikke & Dennis User Profile
Rikke & Dennis
April 2017
Old farm house with a mix of young wwoofers and Airbnb guests. The place had a great atmosphere and lovely people staying there, including the host's sister who looked after the place in Richard's absence. Unfortunately, the house had long standing issues with water damage due to…
Richard User Profile
Response from Richard:
Rikke & Dennis: Thank you for your feedback. I'm really sorry about the problems that you experienced. It is very unfortunate that you visited during one of the wettest autumns on record, which would have significantly exacerbated the issues. We are, however, working hard to remedy the situation. Please note: 1) The wifi to the SW bedroom in which you were staying has been fixed, and we are also working to obtain backup internet in case the microwave internet from our current provider ever goes down during bad weather conditions. 2) As far as I know, there have never been leaks in the room that your occupied, although there have been leaks in both the adjacent living area as well as the carport. The most significant leaks in the were due to the downpipes from the upstairs roof not having been connected when, at the end of last year, the upstairs roof was replaced combined with the older (lead-head) nail-heads having been knocked off by people walking on the ground-floor roof during that process - The problems that caused became apparent the week you visited and accordingly the downpipes were installed shortly after you left, which solved almost all the immediate leakage problems. The entire ground-floor roof is scheduled to be replaced in June/July, and plans are for inside jib replacement and insulation replacement/installation, repainting with anti-mould paints, as well as heat pump installation, where appropriate for maintaining as healthy an atmosphere as possible. If you experience hay-fever symptoms due to the pollen producing trees such as wattles and pines at Pakowhai, then we can't promise to eliminate that, although some of these may be replaced by native trees in the years to come. Again, my apologies for what you experienced, and that the very wet weather meant that you were not able to enjoy your stay and have the very positive experience that the majority of our other guests have had, but I do think that if you are ever able to return once the renovations are completed and Gisborne is turning on its more typical "first city of the sun" weather, your experience will be a completely different and positive one.
April 2017
Codey User Profile
February 2017
Great room and fantastic hosts. Richard was very accommodating and recommend highly.
Philipp User Profile
February 2018
our stay their was just for one night but it was great. they we're so nice and helpful. just could recommend it to everyone. thxfor the nice time. next time we should stay longer
Sanjeetha User Profile
January 2018
We had fantastic stay at Richard’s place. Very nice and sweet place to live. Richard is a great host.
Jessica User Profile
December 2017
Richards place was lovely. I would recommend this as a nice little get-away from the hussle and bussle. Was great to meet Richard and his sister. Both are really friendly and welcoming people! This was my first air bnb experience and it surpassed expectations Thanks
Wolfgang User Profile
December 2017


Hosted by Richard

Muriwai, New ZealandJoined in May 2016
Richard User Profile
134 Reviews
Languages: Deutsch, English, Español, Français, Italiano, Русский, 中文
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
About the home
When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.
This is Richard’s place.
Pakowhai helps host.


Muriwai, Gisborne, New Zealand

- 22 km (20-25 minutes drive) south of downtown Gisborne.
- 15 minutes to the outskirts of Gisborne.
- 38 km (30-35 minutes drive) north of Morere Hot Springs.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet
Enter dates to see the total trip price, including additional fees and any taxes.

Similar listings