Guest room upstairs view 2Guest bathroom upstairs
Gorgeous Room, King Bed and bathroom Nth Brisbane
Gorgeous Room, King Bed and bathroom Nth Brisbane
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
2 baths
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our home is close to parks and walking spots, on the north side of Brisbane (30km from the city and less than an hour to the Sunshine Coast). You’ll love it because of the outdoors space, the quiet bush setting (on an acre of garden), quality fittings and furniture, and close proximity to drive to the city or catch the train. We love travel ourselves and really enjoy having people stay. Our place is a super choice for singles or couples.

The space

Our home is large and modern- built 15 years ago. Its construction keeps warm in winter and cool in the summer. The swimming pool is well used in the summer months when Brisbane can be hot and humid. You will have access to the pool if staying with us in the summer.

The bedroom you will be in has a king bed, with freshly laundered pure cotton sheets and comfy duvets and pillows. Fluffy bath towels are also provided. The room has an overhead fan and opening window for hot summer nights. Two sets of drawers, hanging space, toiletries and magazines to read are available.

Your bathroom is upstairs with a shower, bath, basin and separate toilet.

Outside the room is a sitting area on the second floor- this has a sofa bed so it is possible for up to 2 more adults (or children) to stay for an additional $10 per night per person. We also have a single bed in an adjacent study for guests, additional $10 per night. And for further options (!) at times our son's room with double bed may also be available for additional $30 per night.

You can park your car on the concrete drive in front of our garage overnight as long as it is moved in the morning about 7am before I go to work. Alternatively you can sleep in and park on the verge of the grass/road at the front of the house. Our street is a cul de sac and very quiet.

Guest access

You will have access to the upstairs bedroom, upstairs bathroom, sitting area, and upstairs verandah which has two chairs. Also the downstairs laundry, and bathroom. In the summer months you will also be enjoying our sparkling large pool and garden settings!

Breakfast of cereal, toast, preserves, coffee/tea are available for additional $10 per person in the kitchen/dining area.

Wifi is available to all guests. Areas with no access are: Frank's downstairs office, Maria's downstairs library, downstairs lounge, Maria and Sam's upstairs office, Sam's upstairs bedroom, Maria and Frank's upstairs bedroom suite.

Interaction with guests

Frank works from his downstairs office most days so although you will know he is home he will be busy and keep to himself. I work in the city and leave between 6.30-8.30am. Please call my mobile (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) if you have any questions during your stay.

If you would like to join us for dinner please let us know a day in advance and we can easily accommodate this for an extra $10 per person per meal. We would love to chat over a glass of wine and a meal.

Other things to note

The closest shopping centres are at Warner, North Lakes (which includes the large Westfield, IKEA and Costco stores) or Strathpine -each about 10 mins drive. Local Woolworths at Petrie- also the Old Petrie Town Markets on Sundays. Samford and Dayboro townships are 20 mins drive and are beautiful spots to enjoy a meal.

We have 3 loveable dogs including a 6 month old puppy Millie. Both the puppy and her 2.5 year old uncle Harry are energetic Soft Coated Wheaten Terriers and like company. Neither growl or bite, but they may try and jump up for a cuddle! So if you don't like energetic dogs or are frightened of dogs - our place may not be right for you. Harry, Millie and Bella our 13 year old Poodle Bichon sleep in the downstairs laundry and have no access to the upstairs bedrooms and spaces.


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet
Smoking allowed

Prices
Extra people $10 AUD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $15 AUD
Weekend Price $75 AUD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Common spaces
1 single bed, 1 sofa bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 8PM
Check out by 11AM

We have three friendly dogs - Harry a 2.5 year old Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier, Millie an 8 month Wheaten Terrier and Bella a 13 year old Poodle Bichon. You can see them in the pictures running in our park. Our house will not suit anyone uncomfortable with dogs.

Smoking is allowed outside in the garden or on the upstairs verandah.

Please leave wet towels on the rack in the bathroom to dry.

If you are checking in after 8pm please let me know prior.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

5 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Emilie User Profile
July 2017
A lovely room with friendly hosts who were happy to be flexible to meet our needs. Theoretical dogs were very friendly to have around too!

Kate User Profile
April 2017
Very accommodating couple. Comfy bed and room with a few extra nice little touches.

Tammy User Profile
September 2016
Maria and her husband were wonderful hosts. There was a perfect amount of space for the 3 of us and their 2 dogs were friendly, although the snoring was hard to get through on the first night.
Maria User Profile
Response from Maria:
Although the guest bedroom is able to accommodate 3 people, for 3 adults we do recommend for additional comfort that guests hire the sofabed in the upstairs lounge or Sam's room if available.
September 2016

Peter User Profile
August 2016
We were made very welcome by Maria and Frank. Our room was very comfortable and was as described in the description. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts on the patio and Frank cooked a delicious evening meal. They gave us advice on where to go and were very sociable. Maria and Frank have two dogs which were an absolute joy. We would recommend staying at this location.

David Yunhao User Profile
July 2016
Every member of this family is so kind. We had a very wonderful and comfortable experience in Maria's home. Because we spent a lot of time visiting every tourist attraction around Brisbane, as a result, we came back to Maria's home very late every evening. Maria still prepared delicious food and tasty tea for us. Furthermore, the bad room is very clean, the bathroom is big and water is warm. Their house located in a perfect place, close to the Mungarra Reserve, you can have a walk on the grass. And it is not far to the Petrie Railway Station. When I visit Brisbane next time, I will still choose Maria's house. Thanks Maria.

Queensland, AustraliaJoined in November 2015
Maria User Profile

Hi there! My husband Frank and I are New Zealand born, experienced home exchangers who love having guests to stay with us. We are fortunate to have a big home which feels better when shared with others. My eldest son Sam and his lovely Welsh girlfriend Hannah live with us and our three cuddly dogs. Frank has an office downstairs and is often at home.

Our bedrooms are all upstairs and you have the choice of exclusive use of the downstairs bathroom with large shower, or sharing the upstairs bathroom and separate toilet with Sam and Hannah. You have access to our large pool and 1 acre garden.

We are 30km north of Brisbane in a beautiful area adjacent to a bush reserve- and less than an hour to the stunning Sunshine Coast. We came to Brisbane on holiday 10 years ago and moved here 7 years ago.

Hope to see you soon!
Maria and Frank

The neighbourhood

Similar listings