Peace and quiet - havre de paix à la montagne
Peace and quiet - havre de paix à la montagne
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Large double bedroom with private WC, in converted barn, in a peaceful mountain hamlet. A paradise for hikers, mountaineers, climbers, motorcyclists and cyclists, and skiers, with a thermal spa town nearby.

C'est avec grand plaisir que je vous accueille dans cette grange de montagne rénovée. Hameau tranquille, chambre double avec WC privé. Randonneurs, montagnards, skieurs, cyclistes, motards - vous trouverez tous votre paradis ici. La ville thermale d'Ax les Thermes est à proximité.

The space

Chambre double, de beaux volumes, avec WC privé, coin détente et de quoi faire un café ou thé dans la chambre. La porte se ferme à clef de l'intérieur. Le petit déjeuner sera simple et délicieux. Si vous suivez un régime spécial (sans gluten, végétarien, paleo etc) n'hésitez pas à me le dire.
This lovely double bedroom is light and spacious, with a nook for relaxing with a cup of tea or coffee (facilities provided in the room). The room has its own WC and there are fly screens on the windows for your comfort (we are in a rural area). There is an internal lock on the bedroom door. The bathroom has a large corner bath if you need to soak away the aches and pains after a day of activity.
I'll provide you with a simple, delicious breakfast and a selection of tea, coffee and juice. I use local (our own garden if I can!) and where possible, organic produce, and I can cater for most dietary requirements (Gluten Free, Dairy Free, vegetarian, vegan etc). Please let me know when booking if you have special requirements.

Guest access

Je vous invite de profiter de nos salles de séjour et du jardin. Votre chambre dispose d'un WC privé, et la salle de bains vous est réservée exclusivement entre 7h et 9.30 du matin.
Il y a un lieu sécurisé pour garder les vélos ou les équipements de sport.

You're very welcome to relax in our living areas and garden. Your room has its own private WC, and you'll have exclusive access to the bathroom from 7am to 9.30 during your stay. (After that time, I need access to clean).
There is a secure storage area for your bikes, skis and any other equipment you may bring with you.

Other things to note

Etant dans un milieu rural, nous disposons de l’assainissement individuelle, ce qui est un système un peu délicat. Je vous prie de bien vouloir utilisez les produits de salle de bains que vous trouverez à votre disposition, et de ne rien jeter dans les WC sauf le papier de toilette.
Nos animaux (une chienne labrador très affectueuse et un chat adorable) font partie de notre famille. Ils ont le droit d’aller dans les pièces communes, et le chat à l’étage. On essaie de garder le chat hors de votre chambre, alors merci de tenir la porte fermée quand vous n’êtes pas dans la chambre.
As we are in a rural area, we have individual drainage (i.e. we're not on the mains). This is a delicate ecosystem so please use the eco-friendly products we provide, and don't put anything down the drains that shouldn't be there.
We share our home with our pets - a cat and a very friendly labrador. While they are not allowed in the guest room, we can't guarantee that the cat won't sneak in if the door is left open, so please ensure you close the door.
We have wifi which you are welcome to use, however it's very slow and unsuitable for downloading or streaming.

Amenities
Wireless Internet
Breakfast
Shampoo
Iron
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 4PM - 8PM
Check out by 10AM

- The room is suitable for 2 people only
- Please use the eco-friendly bath/shower products provided

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) live in the house
Cancellations

73 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rowan User Profile
February 2017
Welcoming hosts who made me feel wonderfully comfortable. Their place was amazing with stone and wood throughout. Just as pictured. The hosts gave me a wealth of valuable information about local skiing options, tracks and other nature adventures, as well as some essential shopping tips.

Stephen User Profile
October 2017
This is a lovely refurbished French country home in the high country. Jack and Vivien are wonderful,. Not only is the place fantastic value, they give you breakfast as well! With eggs from their own chickens :-) Jack is a wealth of information about the region.

C User Profile
October 2017
We had a wonderful stay including a great breakfast with super company. Highly recommended.

Ian User Profile
September 2017
Really good folks, nice place, exactly what I was looking for.

Jocelyn User Profile
September 2017
Jack and Vivienne were the perfect hosts. They were willing to cater to my changing desire of alone time and interaction. Full of great recommendations and wonderful culinary skills, I would return again and again. The region is amazing and if nature is what you are seeking, this location is so peaceful. Leila (chocolate lab) and Fat Cat add an extra touch of excitement and love! Thank you both for such a restoring few days!

Laetitia User Profile
August 2017
Nice hosts and nice place, thank you for your kindness!

Carlos User Profile
August 2017
The place is wonderful, surrounded by nature. It is very cozy and comfortable. Concretely, the bedroom is huge and very cozy too. You have a private toilet. Jack and his wife are very nice, respectful and attentive people. Lovers of nature and animals! They have 1 dog, 1 cat and chickens and all his animals are very beautiful and charming. We fall in love with them! We’d recommend this accommodation to anyone. Moreover, if it returned we’d not doubt to repeat. They are great!

Interaction with guests

Je me tiens à votre disposition pour tout renseignement sur la région. En tant que montagnard, cycliste et grimpeur, passionné de ces montagnes, je serai ravi de vous aider à choisir des activités qui vous conviendront.

As a keen mountaineer, cyclist and climber, I'm very happy to help you plan activities during your stay in our beautiful part of the Pyrénées.

About Jack

I'm an Irish New Zealander living in the beautiful French Pyrenees, with my wife, our labrador, two cats and a few chickens. I'm a committed mountaineer and also love rock climbing, cycling, and relaxing in the garden of this beautiful place we call home.
As a host, you'll find me relaxed and easygoing - I want you to feel at home during your stay.
Je suis irlandais et néo-zélandais, et avec ma femme on s'est installé dans ces belles Pyrénées Ariégeoises. Je parle un peu Français (vous pourrez m'aider à améliorer!) et ma femme le parle courrament.
On voudrait que vous vous sentiez chez vous pendant votre séjour, alors venez nous retrouver dans notre petit havre de paix.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings