B & B King-Sized Double Room - fabulous Peak Views!B & B King-Sized Double Room - fabulous Peak Views!
B & B Double - fabulous Peak views!
Hosted by Andrew
Andrew is the host.Andrew is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Join us in one of the highest inhabited farmhouses in the Peak District! Perfectly placed to explore the High Peak and Derbyshire and benefiting from wonderful uninterrupted panoramic views over Kinder Scout, Eccles Pike, South Head and Cracken Edge.

The space

Our location is a complete one-off... Our family home is an eighteenth-century farmhouse, renovated throughout, enjoying truly panoramic views across the High Peak - you're so high up you can watch the weather come and go!

This listing is for one of our King-Sized Double Rooms (with memory foam mattress). Check out our other listings for our second King-Sized Double Room, Single Room and Twin Room.

There are tea and coffee making facilities available upstairs for your use. There's also a Drawing Room (with musical instruments) and a TV Lounge for your enjoyment.

Our home is the perfect spot for walkers, potholers, climbers and mountain-bikers or if you just want to explore the coffee shops and stately homes of the Peak District.

Guest access

We have a Drawing Room with a Baby Grand Piano and (as I'm a retired opera singer) heaps of weird and wonderful opera recordings to listen to or watch! There are wood-burning stoves in the Drawing Room and TV room and underfloor heating throughout the house in case the weather turns colder. Despite our two reception rooms, we find (like at most good parties...!) most guests congregate in the farmhouse kitchen which is kept cozy by our four-oven Aga. There's extensive onsite car-parking and also a large barn onsite for storing bicycles etc.

Interaction with guests

We're a young couple (gulp - in our fifties!) and we have various young adult children who are occasionally around - and our pets (cat, rabbit, budgie and fish). We're happy for you to come and go as you please. We'll be about during your stay and we are happy to sit and chat or leave you to your own devices as preferred. Your breakfast is included in the price.

Other things to note

During the winter months when there's snow forecast in the area (always check-able online at buxtonweather), access can sometimes prove interesting!!; we have a suitably equipped 4x4 that can usually get through most conditions. The entire property has underfloor heating.


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM

We welcome bed-and-breakfast guests into our home. Please leave muddy boots and outside coats in the side porch - clean shoes on stone floors - slippers everywhere else.

Our home is NO SMOKING throughout, but we don't mind you heading outside to take in the view whilst you smoke.

We have our own animals and other local livestock so we're sorry, but we cannot accommodate pets.

Please note that that guests are not allowed to store, prepare or cook food in our kitchen. We do not offer "whole house" rental.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs
Pet(s) live on property

Cancellations

9 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Fiona User Profile
October 2016
This was my first ever experience of Airbnb – What can I say, I have been spoilt, and slightly worried other providers may pale in comparison. Excellent Hosts, who made you thoroughly welcome. Serving enough Tea and Coffee (freshly ground) everyday, accompanied by homemade cakes (thanks Janet) that they could easily have opened up a side business. Breakfasts are huge and keep you full for most of the day, although I always succumbed to the Tea and Cake on my return. Andrew and Janet live in close proximity to Buxton/Castleton/Bakewell etc., have an excellent vantage point from their home with the most amazing views. For those that are active, Stanage Edge (think Pride and Prejudice) beautiful walk (wear proper walking boots). Monstral Trail (Cycling), lovely but not as flat as you think as I found out. Both Andrew and Janet cannot do enough for you, I found them to be charming/very interesting/a couple who make you feel ‘at home’. Those who are musically accomplished (unlike me) are offered the opportunity to play on the Piano and so many other instruments if they so wish - It was lovely to be made so welcome and invited to use what is essentially their own private equipment. Andrew, thank you for the information on St Kilda and if I can persuade Bryan to accompany me on the treacherous waters surrounding that area I may well be visiting in the near future. I would thoroughly recommend Andrew's Home to anyone.

Harry User ProfileHarry is a superhost.
July 2016
Wonderful hosts and beautiful surroundings. Delicious breakfast and Andrew was very relaxed when we were running late one day - the mark of a good host! Would highly recommend.

Honestly about the best BnB experience we've ever had, and the best anyone could hope for! The surrounding area is very beautiful with many local walks and stunning views of the English Peak District countryside. There is a quaint little pub a few minutes walk from the house with good food and delicious cider. Andrew went above and beyond with accommodating us on our visit from the U.S. There was cake and tea and quite a bit more than your usual breakfast fare for us in the morning and after a day of fun activities in the nearby villages. Andrew was happy to answer all of our questions about England and converse as much as we wanted, or leave us to our privacy, apart from showing us the delightful pets and pointing out local sights. Whether you're looking for a quiet get away or an active journey through the peaks, this is a must stay for anyone traveling in the area.

Sandy User Profile
July 2016
It was a fantastic place to stay, so welcoming and felt like home from home. We would definitely stay here again.

Caroline User Profile
May 2016
Thoroughly enjoyable. If we were to travel back to the Peak District I would check to see if Andrew had space before looking elsewhere, and my other half was discussing organising an extended family trip. The listing was accurate. Great location, with beautiful views. Visitor attractions were a short car journey away. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and bright. Memory foam mattress was very comfortable. One of the reviews mentions a temperamental shower, this had been rectified and the water was hot, powerful and plentiful. The breakfasts were substantial, tasty and freshly cooked with fresh ground coffee or a selection of teas. Also a large range of cereals available. We found that we only needed a light snack for lunch. Andrew and Janet were exceptional hosts, equally content to leave you to your own devices or chat and offer advice on walking routes/eating routes. We were delighted to find freshly baked cakes waiting for us on our return from walking. Can't recommend enough.

Fran User Profile
May 2016
Beautiful scenery on top of a hill and very well placed for walking. Shower temperature was a little temperamental in the morning but the excellent AGA cooked breakfast and homemade cakes made up for it. Andrew and his family were very welcoming, easily accommodating an unplanned late arrival, making sure the kettle was on even though it was late. He even offered to come and pick us up from where our car had broken down!
Andrew User ProfileAndrew is a superhost.
Response from Andrew:
Hi again Fran. Thanks so much for your kind comments. We've just had a new domestic water pump fitted and we'd mistakenly left it set to "auto" rather than "constant"; I reckon that should solve the problems! Hope to see you back in High Peak before too long, Andrew
May 2016

Harriet User Profile
April 2016
Andrew was extremely accommodating and despite our fairly hectic schedule was very happy to be flexible with timings etc.

United KingdomJoined in February 2015
Andrew User ProfileAndrew is a superhost.
Sometime opera-singer (now retired) who enjoys living in the countryside along with partner (Janet) and Byron (cat)!
Languages: English, Français, Italiano

The neighbourhood

Similar listings