Light and bright guest room with double bed and views of the garden. Private bathroom, fully equipped with power shower, full sized bath, toilet, sink and heated towel rail.
Double room by the sea in a zero waste home!
Double room by the sea in a zero waste home!
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our double room, with private bathroom, is a great base for the rugby & exploring South Wales. We're located 7minutes drive from Cardiff International Airport & 2minutes walk from Barry Train Station. We offer wifi & fresh baked bread for breakfast.

The space

Our space is a cosy Victorian terrace house on the top of a hill. The double room has been recently decorated and fits two adults comfortably. The room over looks the back garden where I grow my own vegetables.

Guest access

You will have access to your own private bathroom, with bath/shower and toilet facilities. Toiletries, such as shampoo and body gel, are available to use. You're welcome to use the kitchen and dining area. Feel free to prepare your own lunch and dinner and help yourselves to a selection of tea and coffee. We will provide a continental breakfast with freshly baked bread in the morning. You're also welcome to any fresh produce that we grow in our vegetable patch in the garden (seasonal). We have wifi and a number of USB chargers available around the house, including one in the guest bedroom. You can also relax in our sitting room and watch a movie or read a book from our collection.

Interaction with guests

I will most likely be in the house during your visit and am more than happy to help with any questions.

Other things to note

We live very close to Barry Train station but it is a walk up a short but steepish hill. I can meet you at the train station in the car if hills are an issue.


Amenities
Breakfast
Smoking allowed
Internet
Free parking on premises

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check out by 12PM (noon)

The house is a No Smoking zone but smoking is allowed in the back garden provided that ash trays are used. We have light coloured carpets so we ask guests to take their shoes off in the house but we can provide slippers for guests if they would like some.
Check out is 11am on weekdays, noon on Sundays. If you plan on spending the day locally we offer a left luggage option, so you can enjoy your day without worrying about your bags.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - one flight of steep stairs to the bedroom and bathroom.
Some spaces are shared - The kitchen and living areas downstairs are shared.
Amenity limitations

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

16 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Emily User Profile
October 2017
Great location, lovely home and room - and wonderful home baking too! Aoife is very friendly and welcoming, couldn't have asked for more.

IAN And GLYNIS User Profile
September 2017
Aoife is an excellent host and we enjoyed our one night stay with her. The bed room and private bathroom are in top condition and are very clean. The bed is comfortable, and we really enjoyed the freshly made Welsh cakes.We can recommend this airbnb.

Ellen User Profile
August 2017
Aoife's brick row house was charming, clean and quiet ,and the room was very private. She and Brecon (her baby) are welcoming and are interesting people - easy and enjoyable to spend time with.

Belinda User Profile
July 2017
Aoife is a great and accommodating host (and her well mannered baby a great co-host). Her place is quiet, clean and tidy and very conveniently located close to Barry Station. As mentioned by many other guests in their reviews - the homemade bread is a treat!

Gonzalo User Profile
May 2017
The host canceled this reservation 5 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Sheila User Profile
October 2016
Aoife was an absolutely amazing host. She really made us feel very welcome with Welsh cakes to die for. Her home is beautiful and in a great location. Will absolutely call again if we are ever in the area and could not recommend it highly enough.

Charles User Profile
September 2016
We had a great time at Aoife's place. The breakfast was great every morning. It was a continental style breakfast with fresh fruit, cereals, coffee, tea and home baked Irish soda bread. The room and bathroom were really clean and the bed was very comfortable. Nearby Cardiff is a great town, the castle is one of the best in Europe, the city is very walkable, it has great night life, the people are friendly and the restaurants were great. It is only a 4 minute walk from Aoife's place to the train station, very convenient. Aoife is the best, she is super friendly and she even brought us to the airport, which was a big help.

Barry, United KingdomJoined in January 2016
Aoife User Profile

Hi, I'm Aoife. I'm from Ireland but am now living with my husband, James, and our baby boy in Barry, Wales. I'm a geologist, so yes, I love rocks and minerals but also love hiking, photography, travel, music and movies. I love reading and baking and will be happy to make sure there are lots of freshly baked treats for your visit. Since moving into the house I've really enjoyed getting stuck into the garden. It's a real treat being able to cook meals from food I've grown myself. Guests can look forward to freshly grown fruit and veg when possible.

I'm hoping to be a good host that provides you with a home away from home for your stay. When I travel I like to stay in places that are relaxed and comfortable and that have their own character. I'm hoping I can provide that same sense of relaxation and comfort for our guests.
We are striving to be a zero waste home. The aim is to reduce our plastic and waste output as much as possible in order to help protect the planet and our oceans. If you're interested in the zero waste lifestyle then this is the place for you.

I speak a few different languages, including Swedish, French, Spanish and a little bit of German, so hopefully I can welcome you to our home in your own language!

Languages: Deutsch, English, Español, Français, Svenska
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings