Skip to content
A warm fire for cooler evenings. My old Rayburn Stove is always lit for morning breakfast and hot water.
Country Home near Cradle Mountain
Country Home near Cradle Mountain
6 guests
2 bedrooms
6 beds
1 private bath
6 guests
2 bedrooms
6 beds
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

My home is 30 mins away from Cradle Mountain, gateway to Tasmania's West Coast. Comfortable Queen bed room available for 2, a room with 2 single beds, a couch that becomes a Queen-bed in my lounge room. You can have one room or the lot for your friends and family. Up to six can stay. An old wood-stove heating water for cooking, a big fire place, you share my kitchen own bathroom. I have pet lambs, chickens & Pearl my greyhound. Bring food, chat to me by phone, fresh organic veggies in m garden

The space

I am offering my home for you to rest for adventures and recover from Cradle Mountain. I can also give information about Tasmania's forests and water environments. Ask for complete privacy, ask me to advise on your trip which is the best places to go. TV and WiFi, Lounge-room, Kitchen and Bathroom.

Guest access

The front bedroom, living room, bathroom and kitchen all available space. You have a key for front door and access to 1 other doors to veranda and garden. I just have had 3 lambs born and their maybe baby chickens soon as well. Parking at the side of the home near the front door.

Interaction with guests

I have my own accomodation end of house. I have to show you how to use my stove and I will light the heater in the common room when needed. I will be around the home if you need help so tell me if you want complete privacy after you settle in.

Other things to note

I am available for garden walks, feed chickens and sheep if you want to. My sheep are friendly and I have a white greyhound dog called Pearl I have adopted. I will be able to give you the best directions to places of interest in Tasmania. Please don't follow the cell phone internet directions as it will take you on a merry cross country ride. Best way to get to my home is on the highway past Devonport and turn at the first sign to Cradle Mountain at the Forth River turn off. It is the easiest way to my home and very strait forward. If you are coming from another direction, do ring me up and chat about the best way before you start your journey as internet and phone sometimes do not work in these hills.

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials
Prices
Extra people $40 AUD / night after 2 guests
Security Deposit $150 AUD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $94 AUD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 sofa bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check-in is anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with doorman

I am hoping to have a family atmosphere. This is not a hotel or motel but a family home. I may have my family visit me and hope you enjoy meeting my friends when they arrive. You will be sharing my fridge and washing machine and when drinks are served I will be asking you if you want to share this time with me. it is not a requirement just an understanding that my life should not change and you are included in my home life if you choose to do so.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and other pet(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Availability
1 night minimum stay

9 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Emily User Profile
October 2017
We loved staying at Sarah's place. The house is in an excellent location - it's on the outskirts of a nice small town and only a short drive to Cradle Mountain (suitable to visit there for a day trip with enough time to hike to the summit if you want). Sarah was very welcoming and we learnt a lot from her about the local environment. Her house is clean and has a great country feel to it, with chickens, a few sheep (and cute lambs while we were there), a few veggie patches, a lovely gentle dog, and we felt at home there. Sitting on the back verandah you can relax and overlook a very old beautiful tree, or sit in the lounge room by the fire if it's cold. Her house is large enough if you want your own space, or comfortable also to talk in the shared spaces. Great value for money and I would definitely recommend to others.
Sarah User Profile
Response from Sarah:
Thank you for your review, Emily, it was wonderful to have some South Aussie folk over as I lived in Grange for 22 years. My home felt like family were here for a little while. Do come visit again-:) Best wishes, Sarah
October 2017

Qian User Profile
September 2017
Sarah is very nice and friendly , She has lot of knowledge about the cradle mountain and also on how to save our environment . Is very nice to listen to her story and the kids are very excited to see the chickens and sheep in the property. Also we love her dog pearl's company!
Sarah User Profile
Response from Sarah:
Thanks Qian, I enjoyed showing the children the farm animals and pearl misses their affection.Don't forget to find the ancient trees every where you go as they are also missing affection and need to be saved. Best wishes to all, Sarah and Pearl.
September 2017

Tom User Profile
June 2017
Sarah was a delightful host with so much knowledge of the area to share with us. Our trip was based around walking cradle mountain and she offered us info on the best walks to do and gave us a spare map which was useful. The description is accurate, do not expect a motel but do expect a tidy home with an intriguing garden, a pond, a friendly greyhound and a helpful host

Paterson User Profile
March 2017
Thank you for opening up your home to me. Such a great little place with all the delights of a little farm. The Lord of the Manor, Boo the black lab, was super firendly. The place is run by some really down to earth and relaxed people, so perfect for a bit of an excape from a busy life.

Angela User Profile
December 2016
A lovely place to stay if you want to go to Cradle Mountain. We stayed one night and had to leave early in the morning because an emergency. There is not mobile phone signal but there is WI-FI. There is a dog called Boo who was very special. Sarah has plenty of knowledge of the area and several topics in general. She is always willing to have a chat and explain everything.

Trevor User Profile
March 2016
My partner and I both enjoyed our stay with Sarah. She's a real character who gave us a full tour of her property where we met her sheep and chickens. Her place is a bit old school but comfortable. Her dog Boo is huge but friendly, so even someone who isn't a fan of dogs (like me) will find themselves patting him. As long as you aren't expecting modern luxury then you should enjoy staying here.
Sarah User Profile
Response from Sarah:
Do you think my description could be better so people will know what to expect Trevor? Please help me with it if you want to. I really want folks to feel like it is a country home. The building is nearly 100 years old, but I love it.Thanks for your kind words-:)
March 2016

Cath User Profile
November 2017
We stayed at Sarah's house and enjoyed a very exciting hike on Cradle Mountain, which is easily accessed from her home in Wilmot (30 minute drive to the park entrance). Sarah is a talented artist and has many fascinating tales to tell as well as lots of useful local information. She has lots of animals and a nice garden.
Sarah User Profile
Response from Sarah:
Dear Patrick and Cath, Thankyou for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you both and am happy you had a swim. Thank you for your report on the Platypus place, it was a help to me. Love to have you back anytime. Good luck in New Zealand, sound fabulous! Best wishes! Sarah
November 2017

Tasmania, AustraliaJoined in January 2016
Sarah User Profile

My home is antiquated, old fashioned, it is my home. I am an artist and love working with glass. I am also a gardener and have a permaculture garden with chickens and sheep and a great darling dog called Pearl. Please don't feed my dog but yes you can play with her. She will be your best friend ever. Hahaha!
My kitchen has a wood fire to cook on and electric or dine out 15 mins drive away at Moina cavern has great food.
There is a TV and wifi. I live in back of home. I love canoeing and walking rivers and mountains around here. I am willing to help you understand Tasmania and the environment, forests and water. if you want to retreat you must tell me you need privacy as I have plenty to do. You share my kitchen, have fridge and cupboard space for your food. Water is scarce so please take care not to waste it in summer. Showers limited to one per day. Plenty water after a good rain! I provide safe drinking water. tea, coffee and muesli, oranges and bananas. please ask me about food as there is just a small shop in Wilmot.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings